FAIRYTALE FAVOURITES

Right now I am planning a new project. Yes, it may not be the most logical time to be playing with a new MS when I should still be working through my ASA mentorship homework. Though, sometimes I need something fresh and new (and less painful). Now that I know how I like to write and edit a novel, it feels good to play with something that I haven’t done completely backwards.
My new baby is a fairytale; romance, fantasy, adventure – what more could you want! So, while I have been daydreaming and scribbling notes on scenes and viewpoint characters, I’ve started watching my favourite fairytale films.
My current list is:
1. The Princess Bride
2. Ladyhawke
3. Brothers Grimm
4. Any Disney film (Beauty & the Beast and Aladdin are my favourites)
What I want to know from you is, what do you love about fairytales? Also, feel free to add to my list if you have any suggestions for good fairytale movies or music to write to.

One thought on “FAIRYTALE FAVOURITES

  1. Kathleen, don’t beat yourself up about starting a new project! I’ve done exactly the same thing, and if I didn’t have something other than the mentorship ms to focus on I would have gone insane. Your new project sounds intriguing…I LOVE fairy tales. I’ve been a Disney fangirl for ages (my current favs are Mulan and Atlantis, but change regularly). One movie I still love from childhood is The Last Unicorn – still makes me cry. So many beautiful ideas about magic and humanity. But I’ve always been drawn to darker fairy tales, and no one does it better than Jim Henson’s The Storyteller. Brilliant. Dark and magical and dangerous. There are still some lurking around video stores and You-tube. (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=L4V3CFZdcmc).

Leave a Reply

