CABIN FEVER

Is it just me or does the thought of sitting at a desk and writing all day and all night sound like torture?
Don’t get me wrong, I do love writing. I love writing even when it drives me nuts and my characters are giving me attitude. I love the feeling that I can create stories that other people can escape into. However becoming a full-time hermit really does not appeal to me. Let me explain.

Ever since high school I wanted to be an actor. I aced my high school drama classes (not hard), I trained in scene study, shakespeare, improvision, theatre, film and whatever else I could afford and even while I was studying my creative writing degree, I considered it a supplement to my acting. It wasn’t until two or three years ago that I actually considered forging a career in writing. Now I notice that when I stop doing amateur shows and classes and spend all my free time on my writing I get cabin fever.

I wouldn’t call myself an extrovert but the serious lack of human interaction when I write really gets to me. My laptop does not start meaningful conversation with me or laugh at my jokes. It doesn’t even pay out my jokes. It’s depressing. That’s why I don’t understand hearing about successful writers who hate book signings or readings or festivals and would rather hole up in their study and write. But perhaps the cabin fever has already gotten to them…

Cabin fever = death…seriously.

Luckily, my circus classes start up again next week and there’s an audition or two I have my eye on. But what about you guys? Is there anyone out there that could happily hole up in their study without going mad? I must know!

I also need to do a shoutout for the lovely Steph Bowe from Hey, Teenager of the Year. She’s doing people’s choice YA book blog awards and she wants your opinion! Jump on to her blog here and vote.

One thought on “CABIN FEVER

  1. What boring writers we’d be if all we did was write! From the list of things you like to do, I can see why you’re an adventure writer. Auditions and travel and circus classes …. wow.There are certain points during writing where I can easily hide away from the world for a couple of weeks, barely seeing a soul, like in my first draft or when I know where I’m going on a re-draft. However if I go any longer than that I start to turn a bit weird – paranoid and twitchy and making friends with the wallpaper.Katherine

Leave a Reply

