ONE FOR BEGINNERS

As some of you may know, I started circus classes this year in aerials, acrobalance and the basics for tumbling. When I tell people about my circus classes they start telling me how strong/flexible/brave I must be and I have to remind them that I am learning circus and not in a circus.
I am not this confident in lycra…

Being a beginner is not easy. There really is only one way to find out if you can do something or not and that’s to dive right into it. Sometimes I try a new trick and I surprise myself; it was easier than I thought. Other times, I try a new trick and flail about, get tissu burn on my legs and hit the crash mat. Then there are the skills, like climbing, that I thought I had mastered only to discover that there’s more to learn to make it look graceful and neat. The learning process just never ends.

The last ‘new hobby’ I got into was writing. It’s been a while since I started and I had completely forgotten what I was like in the beginning. Somedays, I feel like I’m writing the Neverending Story and I need to stop and look back at my progress. I find the best way to do this is by reading my old stories. It doesn’t matter if it’s a short story from my Uni days or a draft chapter from two months ago, the difference is always shocking to me.

Learning circus is a combination of fear, pure awesomeness, frustration and pain. Learning to draft and edit a novel was (and still is) the same. Some days I am the godess of editing and other days I stare at my computer for an hour, hoping that my brains will kick in. I don’t believe that these feelings disappear after the first or the thirteenth book. There is always more to learn.

For me, it’s just important to remember that I am making progress, even if it’s only a teeny shuffle. So if you feel like you’re going around in circles, just read through your old writing. It may be painful but you’ll notice the difference.

One thought on “ONE FOR BEGINNERS

  1. That’s a clever comparison, and some excellent advice about re-reading old material. It’s so easy to forget how far you’ve come, especially on those days when it still feels so hard! I might do that today (I need a bit of moral booster!)The fact that you’re doing circus classes always makes me think of Martine Murray’s book ‘The slightly true story of Cedar B Hartley, who planned to live an unusual life’ – an awesome book. If you haven’t read it, you should :)Katherine

Leave a Reply

