DISNEY KID

At the moment I’m editing my MS, leaving my job and about to start another, rehearsing a show and generally trying to prevent my head from exploding. The last few weeks have been really stressful but I came home today to the Lion King playing on TV and instantly I started smiling.

I’m a Disney kid and I can’t help it. It doesn’t matter what’s going on around me, a Disney animation always puts me into a good mood. Those animations make me want to act out the lines and sing and dance in the living room. Don’t ask me for my favourite film – it’s too hard to choose!
I was the same when I visited Tokyo Disneyland. Everyone who walks through those gates is a mad fan and it’s absolutely infectious. There are grandmas are wearing Stitch hats and teenage boys with skinny jeans and manga hair are queuing for a ride on Pooh’s Hunny Hunt.

This is the best ride in Disneyland and DisneySea. This is just a photo of the outside of the ride. Inside is more massive storybook pages, twisting and bouncing honeypot carriages, air cannons and animatronics. It’s beautiful!

I’ve always dreamed of writing a Disney animation, which is why I’m so excited about their next film The Princess and the Frog.

The Princess and the Frog is set in the French Quarter of New Orleans and will feature Disney’s first African American Princess. What’s even more exciting is that Disney are returning to their old school style with hand-drawn animation and a broadway-style musical soundtrack. Better still, the film is set to be released in Australia on December 26! Woot!

So, if you’re buzzing like me, then you can keep up to date with the wikipedia and the IMDB pages as well as the trailer.

Leave a comment