I HEART COMMENT BUBBLES…IT SOUNDS STUPID BUT IT’S TRUE

I love the comment bubbles in Microsoft Word and I will tell you why…because they make editing just a wee bit easier.

Last week, I read over chapters six to nine and I decided on two definite changes to make. One of these changes was to delete a large rock that I had featured in this particular setting. I know, it sounds ridiculous. How hard can it be to delete a rock from a setting?

I have bigger issues in my manuscript, I’ll give you that, but I like to weave in the characters to their surroundings and have them react to each other. At the time I probably thought I was very smart sitting characters on the rock to have conversations and using it to orientate the reader of the spatial set up. It was never going to be a matter of ‘find and replace’.

This is where the comment bubbles came in. I scanned through the chapters that had this setting and made a comment bubble each time I referenced the rock. Once that was done, I brought up the reviewing pane (in vertical, horizontal is a pain in the ass) and moved down the list to fix and delete the comments one by one.

I thought this might help some people. Some days (or months) editing feels like drowning but something as simple as addressing the reviewing pane one comment at a time and watching the numbers drop to zero is rewarding.

One thought on “I HEART COMMENT BUBBLES…IT SOUNDS STUPID BUT IT’S TRUE

  1. That sounds like a great feature, and an interesting way to use it. I use a mac, and still have to explore its track editing features some more…Katherine

Leave a Reply

