ON MINI-CELEBRATIONS

I’ve started sipping wine and doing my own little happy dance around the house. Why? I just passed the 30,000 word mark all over again in my manuscript.

Yes, it’s not the first time I’ve ever hit it and it certainly won’t be the last but it’s important to celebrate little milestones.Writing a novel takes time and editing takes even longer; so I always give myself little goals and rewards to aim for. As a YA girl with a target of approximately 60,000 words for a novel, I tend to celebrate every 15,000 words or after completing the four different sections; beginning, middle 1, middle 2, ending.

So, why am I at 30,000 words all over again? I’ve reworked the plot in my current manuscript which, for those of you who know me well, meant an 80% rewrite. I can’t help myself. I’m a sucker for punishment.

The good news is that passing the 30,000 word mark also means passing the halfway mark. Woot! Also, being the second half of the story, it is all action-packed, non-stop madness and tension from here to the finishing line. Woot! Woot!

So, in celebration for such a happy writing day, I thought I’d share a ye olde picture of myself. I didn’t want to be a writer at this age. Hell, I probably didn’t understand what a job was but this photo still makes me laugh.

I can never decide what’s funnier, me or the typewriter…

One thought on “ON MINI-CELEBRATIONS

  1. That's no little milestone – that's a biggie! And love the photo – what a cutie. I love the universal bowl cut all 80s children sported…

Leave a Reply

