BEATING POST-HOLIDAY FUZZ

There’s part of me that loves my post-holiday fuzz. I’m not naturally a zen-like girl but after walking about Tokyo until my legs ache, climbing a gazillion stairs to see the shrines and a taste of snowboarding I’m feeling pretty damn relaxed. But even in the thick of my post-holiday fuzz I felt a niggle to sit down and write.

The first time I sat at my computer and opened up my work in progress was a shocker. The adorable madness of Tokyo had eaten away at my attention span and all my old procrastination techniques were making a comeback. I was on Facebook, then playing on the Wii, then watching just one episode of The Mighty Boosh (which turned into the whole disc) and ‘look at the time, that’s lunch’. It was ridiculous. Absolutely everything imaginable was shiny and distracting.

I realised that I needed to find my writing mojo asap, and I’ve found a few things that have helped me:

1. Catching up with other mad types
Last Saturday night, the 14th Annual Aurealis Awards
were held in Brisbane to celebrate Australian Speculative Fiction. I always find the award ceremony itself to be entertaining but afterward is the party where writers, illustrators, publishers and editors catch up and have a laugh. It’s always a great start to the year and I’d like to say a big thankyou to everyone I caught up with at Aurealis – you made it a memorable night indeed!

2. Music
I have a play list that I was writing and editing to before I went overseas and it feels natural coming back to the same songs. As soon as it starts playing I start to settle in to the project enough to remember the work I’ve already put in.

3. Repeating routine
Lately I’ve been having attacks of the shiny kind. This is basically a condition where everything is more fascinating than my own writing. Shiny, shiny
things = sucky word count. So I have a simple cue that tells my brain it’s time to calm down and write. I make a coffee, I check my email and my Facebook page, start my writing play list and get on with it. That’s all the cue is but it works.

Another part of this is choosing a set time to write and doing it everyday. I haven’t settled into a morning or night time pattern yet but I find that by writing everyday, I settle into a routine easier and my progress is much faster.

If you have another way for beating post-holiday fuzz,
let me know.

Leave a Reply

