SO, I’M IN LOVE WITH RON MUECK…

I’m not much of an art gallery kind of girl, although I love visiting the Gallery of Modern Art in Brisbane (GOMA).

Looking at paint splodges on canvas doesn’t do much for me. In fact, the last time I walked about looking at paintings I set off the alarms and had security guards charging for me. (Yeah, it was just a little embarrassing explaining that I’m short-sighted, not a thief.)

However, sculpture is something that I get really excited about. I can’t explain it but sculpture makes more sense to me. I love walking around it and looking at the details. I love imagining the piece out in the world; just appearing in a park or in the city streets and I love watching other people’s reactions. (Have you noticed how awkward people are in art galleries? They always want to come across more knowledgeable than they really are. It’s the same in intermission at the theatre. Truly awesome places for people-watching!)

At the moment GOMA has an exhibit of Ron Mueck’s work which I saw last month. I absolutely adored it and if you have the chance you should definitely go. What makes his work so captivating is the exact same thing that you need in your writing to draw people in – it’s detail. Here’s a few photos of his work to show you what I mean:

One thought on “SO, I’M IN LOVE WITH RON MUECK…

Leave a Reply

