AWAW 2010 ANTHOLOGY

You may remember from last year that a short story of mine, Bibi’s Tree, won the Katharine Susannah Prichard Open Awards and I was absolutely thrilled. Well, now my story is included in the Award Winning Australian Writing 2010 anthology, published by Melbourne Books and I’m doing my happy dance all over again.

This anthology is about supporting emerging Australian writers and giving a further opportunity for their work to be read. All of the pieces have recently won Australian writing competitions (thus, the title) and I’m itching to get my copy so that I can read all of the other stories. Just as exciting for me is that it’s the first time I’ll have my writing in book form. (Perhaps geeky, but true.)

Unfortunately, being a Brisbane girl, I won’t be at the launch, but if you’re in Melbourne you should go and tell me what it was like. The launch will be held in the City library on the 21st October. If you’re keen, this page has the info.

5 thoughts on “AWAW 2010 ANTHOLOGY

  1. Hi Kathleen,

    I looked you up after meeting at the the CYA conference, and found your wonderful website! Well done! I’ve been meaning to do something about making one myself, and just haven’t gotten around to it.

    I’d love to stay in touch, are you interested in swopping some work sometime, I’d really appreciate your advice if you have time anytime? Always a bit hard to talk in detail at conferences, but I really liked what you had to say about a few things and would like to chat more sometime.

    What do you think?

    Hope you rae having a good week,

    Take care, Sam

  2. Thanks for getting back to me. Yes, I’m not sure when we’re allowed to boast about it, so maybe now? YAAAYYY! (but very nervous all the same!). Talk soon, Sam

Leave a Reply

