Happy dance x 2

I’m being a good girl this year, so I’ve opted for celebratory dances instead of nasty, fatty (delicious) cake. Yes, I said ‘dances’ because my happy-making news comes in two parts.

1. I’ve had a short story accepted into the One Book Many Brisbanes anthology this year. Soon, I’ll be taking part in the three-day masterclass with the other winning writers and our mentors to further develop the stories before publication. It’s an amazing opportunity to meet other local writers and devote a whole weekend to working on our craft and I’m even more excited to share it with my writerly friend, Samantha Wheeler.

2. My YA manuscript, Blood Sun, has been shortlisted for a Varuna Publisher Fellowship. I’m listed under Kathleen Jayne this time due to a brief struggle with my surname that coincided with the submission deadline. Now that I’ve tried it, I’m happy to write under my usual name and make this a once-off occasion. Blood Sun has been sent to the lovely folk at UQP for the final decision which will be announced at the end of March.

It’s been a very encouraging start to 2011 and I’m hoping to keep the momentum going throughout the year. While I’m on the topic of encouraging starts, I’d like to wish everyone a happy Chinese New Year. I hope that the Year of the Metal Rabbit brings you peace and tranquility.

(image from Chinese New Year Cards blogspot)

4 thoughts on “Happy dance x 2

Leave a Reply

