Tuk-tuks, temples and one massive thunderstorm

I’ve returned home to enjoy driving with road rules, walking on foot paths and cleaning my teeth with tap water. Yay! And now I can post a few of my travel photos for you. Double yay!

Now, I’ve wanted to visit Angkor Wat for a few years so I was a little nervous that Siem Reap might not be as amazing as I hoped it would.

I don’t know why I worry so much. Visiting ruins and temples is my idea of a perfect holiday, so I really enjoyed my time in Siem Reap. All up (and in order), the temples I saw were: Angkor Wat, Angkor Thom (which is made up of Bayon, Baphron, Phimeanakas, Terrace of the Leper King and the Terrace of the Elephants), Ta Prohm (affectionately known as ‘Tomb Raider’ for obvious reasons), Banteay Srey, Pre Rup and Banteay Kdei.

It’s tough to pick favourites, so I’ll choose three memorable moments instead.

1. Sitting on the river bank to watch the sunset over Angkor Wat and being caught in a thunderstorm instead.

2. Visiting Ta Phrom so early in the morning that I was almost alone amongst the ruins.

3. Visiting Banteay Kdei which really feels like something out of an Indiana Jones movie (especially when the other tourists are off having lunch).

2 thoughts on “Tuk-tuks, temples and one massive thunderstorm

  1. Kath,
    While I have always really enjoyed reading, you know to that obsessive level that you realise it’s 3am and you should have been asleep hours ago, I have never actually wanted to write before. However I have gotten into the habit lately of reading your blogs and for the first time in my life I have found the thought of actually writing some of those random late night thoughts on paper enjoyable. While I understand that my open ended half asleep ramblings will never make it even close to the amount of work you put into your writing I am finding the process somewhat therapeutic. Really, I just wanted to let you know that I really like your blog and it always seems to inspire me to follow all of those dreams that you think are crazy. So please keep it up!
    Much love!!!!
    telly….:)
    oxox

Leave a Reply

