NaNoWriMo 2011

Before you question my sanity, know this: I have been insane for some time now.

I mean, if signing up for NaNoWriMo (National Novel Writing Month for those of you who live under a rock, and strangely still have great internet access) wasn’t crazy enough, here’s why I’m going to end up in a straitjacket by 30 November.

Reason #1: I’ve spent all of October buying a house. The paperwork, stress and moving will continue to haunt me all the way through November.

Reason #2: Not only do all the end of year gatherings begin in November, but a particular day within the month also marks the undeniable fact that I am getting older. As I’m in my twenties, most people roll their eyes at my pre-birthday panic attacks. The smart ones remember that I’m a scorpio star-sign and back away wearing full body armour. Wise move.

Reason #3: I have been so preoccupied with the house buying saga (oh yeah, it’s been a saga) that I haven’t had the time to prepare my NaNoWriMo project properly.

“So”, you say, “Why do NaNoWriMo this year when your sanity is clinging on to the cliff edge with it’s ragged, bloody fingernails?”

I say, “Do you think my sanity has fingernails?” And then I say, “Because I have to finish this year with something positive.”

And I do. After all the madness I’ve been through this year, I’m taking on NaNoWriMo as my chance to nourish my creativity, my confidence, and perhaps my sanity that seems to have fingernails.

Mostly, I’ll be working on a new contemporary YA novel set on the Gold Coast, which I will tell you about a little more in my next post. Though, when the writing is hard or moving house is giving me nightmares, I have a few short stories that I’ll be playing with as well.

If you’re doing NaNoWriMo as well, let me know in the comments section below. Otherwise, once the buddies section of the NaNoWriMo website is up-and-running, friend me and we can keep track of each other’s word counts, frustrations and successes.

For those of you who may be looking for me on the NaNoWriMo website, my user name is Kathleen Noud. (Awesome, right? Sometimes, my creativity has no bounds!)

Best of luck to all the Wrimo’s out there this year!

2 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo 2011

  1. Fear not, you will survive! Here in the UK, November is normally a great month to do this kind of thing, as it’s usually wet, grey, grim and famous for the smell of moldering leaves (oh, and freezing your butt off in a cowpat-besplattered field watching fireworks on Nov 5th). But with the freaky weather we’ve been having, perhaps not – I was smearing on the suntan lotion less than a fortnight ago!
    Good luck with NaNoWriMo – and yes, I registered my username as Alison Runham. Why waste good character names on myself?!

  2. Thanks, Alison. November in Brisbane is sooooooooo not writing weather. It’s all about buying pretty sundresses and going out for long lunches to see the sunshine. But I’ve promised myself I’d write as well and I’m doing well so far. I’ll find you on NaNoWriMo.

Leave a Reply

