Farewell 2011, and hello free books!

If you’re anything like me then you’re re-watching your favourite Christmas films, getting squidgy around the middle from all the end-of-year parties and counting down the work days until your holidays begin.  It really is the most wonderful time of the year!

It’s been a tumultuous year but one I’ll look back on with heaps of good memories. If I had to pick three highlights of 2011, they would be:

1. Getting in to the One Book Many Brisbanes anthology.

2. Settling into my first house. (I’m still trying to erase the misery of buying the house from my mind.)

3. Walking a tiger for my birthday. Here’s the proof.

Well, walking is a strong word. It was a hot day and the lovely 4yo, Kaitlyn, felt like lying down in the grass rather than walking which gave me more time to chill out with her at Australia Zoo.

But enough about me. Christmas is almost here, and it’s the season for giveaways!

I’ll be giving away two copies of the One Book Many Brisbanes anthology on my blog.

If you would like to put your name in the hat (yep, I’m old fashioned like that), tell me one of your 2011 highlights in the comments section. The giveaway is only open to those with an Australian mailing address. (Sorry to those from far-off places!)

Get in quick. I’ll be closing the freebie draw at midnight on 18 December so I can mail the books out before Christmas. (Fingers crossed.) I’ll update this post when the winners have been announced.

If I don’t hear from you, then I wish you a lazy, fun-filled Christmas and a peaceful beginning to 2012. xo

**UPDATE: Well, I put the names in my straw summer hat and asked the boy to draw out two lucky winners. Congratulations to Lynn Priestley and Sara M! Email me your postal addresses for your copy of the One Book Many Brisbanes 6 anthology.**

14 thoughts on “Farewell 2011, and hello free books!

  1. You walked a tiger? That may well be the most amazing thing ever. One of my blog and life highlights of the year was when Natasha Solomon who wrote Mr Rosenblum’s list told me that my pancakes looked nice in a blog post. She was the first author to comment on my blog and I jumped around like a geek for about half an hour. Like a geek? No, I am a geek 🙂

  2. Hi Kathleen,
    The tiger walk sounds great, but getting into the anthology would be my dream. I tried twice, but no luck. My highlight of the year was at the school where work, when I set up a mentoring relationship between a lonely little boy with special needs and a “jock” in year 12. Win-win-win. It still makes me smile when I think about it.
    Have a great year on the writing front and in every other arena of your life.
    Alison

  3. Hi Kathleen – that’s still a pretty fine highlight trifecta for a crazy year! Loving your blog, by the way, and can just imagine myself slothfully sitting by a swimming pool with One Book Many Brisbanes…

    I realised while reading this post I don’t contemplate my own highlights often enough. Here goes: I found my way to San Francisco this year. I transited through SFO on my first trip overseas in 2001, and vowed I’d be back. Not only did I get to explore some of that amazing city but was lucky enough to meet fabulous professional travel writers at an international conference there. Those writers were proof of the dream and I was (am) so grateful for all they shared.

    Best of luck with your 2012 goals too – maybe we’ll both have a few more stories up our sleeves by the end of the next 12 months!

  4. The highlight of my year… hmmm. By far it has been watching my daughter move towards her potential and succeed with her studies, her internships, her part-time work and her new relationship with a great guy. After years of hoping you’re doing the ‘right thing’ as a parent, it has been magical to see it all come together in this person you (and husband) have nurtured. It is a real buzz.
    PS. How lovely to be visiting your blog, Kathleen. Merry Christmas!

  5. Wow! An amazing year. Such a busy one too though, so I really hope the new year brings some quieter times (with less job changing and house buying and moving!).

    As a ‘starving artist’ I’m always up for freebies, especially when it’s the potential to win a book you’re in! Still so thrilled for you. So my highlight: a toss up between Valentines day in New York (the snow!) and seeing my first pb in a bookstore 🙂

  6. The highlight of my year….5 days of meditative, contemplative bliss at Springbrook, where I wrestled with my demons and then set them free. What a week it was…
    Have a merry one to you and yours xoxo

Leave a Reply

