The Tassie trip

We went to Tasmania because we couldn’t afford to go anywhere else. I know that sounds terrible but it’s true. I booked the flights in January when I was staring down my last few days of leave from work and was desperate for a reason to go back and earn money. (The mortgage and bills don’t seem to motivate me as much as they should.)

But in a plot twist that I would have enjoyed much more in a book, I found out that I wasn’t going to have a job by July.

It meant that our Tassie trip wasn’t as relaxing as I’d imagined and I couldn’t shut down my phone and internet access like I’d planned to do. Though the time away from grey partitioned walls and fluoro lighting really helped me remember what I really enjoy.

Like being surrounded by trees, going for long walks and being among our native wildlife at Cradle Mountain.

Or learning about our history at the Port Arthur Historic Site and creating stories in my head about what it was like to live there.

And, of course, wandering around MONA and being totally in awe of the creativity, history and madness on display in the museum. Then going back to the hotel to remind myself that I’m creative too.

I’ve been back for a few weeks now and am still working out my next steps. Though after watching that Neil Gaiman speech that has been doing the rounds, I have come back quite determined to make some changes.

Whether that means working more in the Arts industry or having the flexibility to go for a walk in the sunshine on a Tuesday, I’ve promised myself to create the life I want now instead of listening to other people’s opinions (which I have been doing far too much of lately).

If my self-portrait sketch from my Tassie trip is any indication, then things could be looking up!

 

4 thoughts on “The Tassie trip

  1. Tuesday sunshine walks are glorious—may you find ways to incorporate them whenever possible! I loved Neil Gaiman’s speech too. Good luck, KN, and I look forward to seeing more of your adventures here, be they interstate or down the road or while cleaning out the third drawer in the kitchen…

  2. Great post. I love Tassie. It’s like an O.S trip without the visa hassle. And your blog is looking fabulous! I love it! May those bluebirds of happiness lift you to the highest of your creative heights x

Leave a Reply

