Puppies are terrible writing buddies

Actually, over the last 7 weeks since we’ve had a furball at home, I’ve started to realise why so many writers have a cat instead of a dog.

Mostly because cats don’t care what you’re doing unless you’re feeding them. Which works well for the solitude and long bouts of thinky time.

It’s different with dogs.

Henry is in his ‘terrible two’ stage, so he’s understandably crazy. But I find my writing time at the moment is broken in to 5-10 minute fragments and I’m usually distracted by one of the following scenarios:

  • Henry has weed somewhere in the house
  • Henry has pooped somewhere in the house
  • Henry has disappeared from sight and is therefore, weeing or pooping somewhere in the house
  • Henry is barking and jumping on me like a mad thing
  • Henry is eating a shoe, book or handbag.

The only time I’ve been able to keep him in the study with me is when I’ve put him back in his crate where he promptly got bored and fell asleep.

I feel like I’m gaining an understanding of how new mothers feel when they’re trying to raise a young thing and get on with their life. It’s a total nightmare, but (99% of the time) I’d never consider giving Henry up.

The main pup-baby difference so far as I can tell is:

Negative: He can sprint waaaaaaay faster than me (and is occasionally impossible to catch without bribery), whereas human babies can’t move without you carrying them from room to room.

Positive: Human babies eventually learn to understand what you’re saying, but Henry will never understand when I’m swearing at him, especially if I keep my happy-face on.

Leave a Reply

